Statistics
Te Tari Pāngarau me te Tatauranga
Department of Mathematics & Statistics
» View an alphabetic list of all Department members

Associates


Professor Richard Barker

(PhD Massey)

Bayesian inference, hierarchical models, ecological statistics, mark-recapture models
Research interests and publications 

Phone: 479-7756
Email: rbarker@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Left the Department in 2017 to become the Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Division of Sciences. **

Assoc Prof Mik Black

(PhD Purdue)

Genetics/genomics, bioinformatics, Bayesian modeling, statistical computing
Research interests and publications 

Office: Biochemistry
Phone: 479-7831
Email: mik.black@otago.ac.nz        
** Based in Department of Biochemistry. Mik supervises students in Statistics, Genetics and Biochemistry. **

Emeritus Professor Derek Holton

(PhD McGill)

Graph theory and combinatorics, mathematics education.
Research interests and publications 

Email: dholton@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Retired April 2009 but continuing links with the Department **

Dr Naomi Ingram





Office: College of Education
Phone: 4284
Email: naomi.ingram@otago.ac.nz        

Baylee Smith





Email: smiba540@student.otago.ac.nz        

Professor Vernon Squire

(DSc Wales, PhD Cambridge)

Polar marine modelling and physics, wave methods, continua, remote sensing.
Research interests and publications 

Office: Room 116 in the Clocktower Building
Phone: 479-8303
Email: vernon.squire@otago.ac.nz        
** Left the Department in 2005 to become the Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Division of Sciences. In 2010 appointed as Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and International). He maintains links with the Department and is still active in research and supervision. **

Dr Jimmy Zeng

(PhD Otago)



Office: Preventive and Social Medicine
Email: jimmy.zeng@otago.ac.nz